Exhibition news from New York City, Seattle and Middlebury, VT

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While I previously said that winter and spring is when I focus on exhibitions, it turned out that it’s not the case this year. I couldn’t resist and have been privileged to have several images invited to three more upcoming exhibition, so now I am trying to figure out the logistics of sending them while I am out of the country. Here’s the news:

Soho Photo Gallery in NYC holds a highly regarded national competition, which this year was juried by Laura Patersen from Christie’s. My invited image is the same one that was (and sold) at Lightbox Photographic last fall. Wish I could attend the opening and meet Laura, but alas, I’ll be in Italy at that time.

One of the photos closest to my heart I’ve ever taken, “Smoke & Tears”, will be part of the annual competition exhibition of the Photo Center of the Northwest, in photography-tradition-rich Seattle. It was juried by collector and curator John Bennette and as per the organizers’ note, the selection was highly competitive. If you know my relationship with Lightbox Photographic you know how much I love the Northwest – plus I am thinking about attending Photolucida next year. Needless to say, I am thrilled!

PhotoPlace Gallery in Vermont is one of the exquisite photography spaces that I’ve always loved. And I was honored that my image was one of the selected from among 1500 submitted, by Alex Webb and Rebecca Norris Webb, two of the preeminent street photographers/photojournalists today. Although Alex is an authority on color, my selected image is in black and white (the same one Jim Price awarded at VAST last month).

All this is already making for a very hectic summer before I leave!

2 responses to “Exhibition news from New York City, Seattle and Middlebury, VT

  1. cliff roberts

    Good job, Ellie!7

  2. Ellie, you never cease to amaze me!! This is why you are the other half of my “Peter coin!” Congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

