Some more live photo news

Photography is seasonal labor. No, it doesn’t only happen during a certain season, but – for me at least – each season imposes its own very different rhythm and demand. I travel in the summer, print in the fall and spring, develop ideas all the times. But the only chance for exhibitions is winter and spring. Following this rhythm requires so much planning, discipline and ultimately accepting the course of what comes your way 🙂

So, here are three more exhibitions where my photographs can be seen on display right now.

vandyke

©Ellie Ivanova. Still Life with a Fly

First off, Another Way of Seeing, an exhibition for alternative photographic processes, hosted by New Orleans Photo Alliance, a significant force for photographic good in the South. It was juried by Christopher James, one of the most authoritative figures on alternative processes in the US. There’s more news  related to this, but it has to wait for now 🙂 My two pieces in this exhibit are vandyke prints, a process I adore for its rusty feel, and they can be seen until May 18.

©Ellie Ivanova

©Ellie Ivanova. Cyanotype oranges.

Reflections is an art exhibition juried by James Rubin (SUNY Stony Brook) at the Mills Pond Gallery in St. James, NY. I’ve got to say that I love it when my photographs are shown among art pieces in different media. It pushes them in different ways and reminds me that merely reproducing reality is not what art (and photography!) is all about. If you happen in New York, visit the lovely place an you can see it between March 23 – April 26.

©Ellie Ivanova. On the Path to a Dream.

©Ellie Ivanova. On the Path to a Dream.

And finally, the annual national juried show of the Visual Art Society of Texas. This exhibition is dear to my heart because it was one of the first ever art shows I participated in, three years ago.  And it’s in Denton, a city I’ve been visiting a lot lately! Juror was Jim Price of University of Texas (Tyler) and it will be held from April to 25 to June 2 at the Meadow Gallery in Denton. Hope to see you at the reception on April 25!

4 responses to “Some more live photo news

  1. Congratulations on having your photographs in three exhibits currently! am still so captivated by your images. I would love to see your photographs on exhibit. I hope you will have some exhibited in a local gallery soon.

  2. You have become my favorite known-by-me (if electronically) photographer. I am still so captivated by your images. Congratulations on your exhibits. I would love to see some of your photographs in person.

  3. Lela, I appreciate your comments and support. And of course, I’d love to meet you in person, too 🙂 I’ll send you the information on the exhibition in Denton, if that is not too far for you. I know the metroplex is a huge place!

  4. Pingback: Exhibition news from New York City, Seattle and Middlebury, VT | Parasol Photography

Leave a Reply

