My photographs, now live

They say an image doesn’t count unless it’s visible. A negative or a file is not really a photograph, just a potential for one.

So I am happy to report that my images can be seen on exhibit, live, at the following places currently:

Art in the Mill, the art gallery at the University of New Hampshire, is hosting my solo exhibition Gypsies without Borders. It includes photographs from the beginning of the project and recent images I shot last summer in Gypsy/Roma neighborhoods in Bulgaria. The series has definitely evolved in the recent year and it’s great that a more complex and complete story is now out there.

This exhibit wouldn’t have happened without my friend Laura Bonk, who hauled the boxes, hung it singlehandedly and gave it life in my stead. Also, if I know the city of Manchester and love its history, it’s because of her.

My photograph “Smoke & Tears” will be part of Joyce Elaine Grant Photography exhibition at Texas Woman’s University opening later in February. Juror was Sarah Kennel from the National Gallery of Art and needless to say, it was an honor to be invited to participate in this prestigeous show. This particular photograph has acquired a life of itself and I’ve been pleased to see it being read in different ways I wasn’t expecting.

IvanovaRevenge

And if you happen to be in Joplin, MO, you can see this same photograph, plus another newer one titled “Revenge”, at Photospiva, the oldest photography competition in the US, sponsored by Spiva Center for the Arts. It was selected along with 80 other photos among 1000 submissions. Juror was Natasha Egan, director of the Museum of Contemporary Photography at Columbia College Chicago. But it’s not only the honor of being invited for such a highly regarded event. I am thrilled that this new image, so dear to me, will get its audience. And the city of Joplin has  such an aura!

If you want to stay in touch with what is happening with my photographs, follow the “news” section of my website, at Ellie Ivanova Photography — or my facebook page where I post news and thoughts pretty regularly. Thanks for coming along for the ride 🙂

4 responses to “My photographs, now live

  1. Ellie, such fantastic opportunities! Congrats!

  2. Thank you, Abby! I like to think that life in photography has its distinct seasons – the season to stay in the dark and the season to be out there in broad sunlight 🙂 Also, the season to doubt yourself, wonder if any of the images you took will turn out well and worry. And this is the season for exhibits, I guess!

  3. Lela Shook Paksoy

    Congratulations on well-deserved recognition of your beautiful and intriguing photographs.

Leave a Reply

